Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Single Digit Seven Segment Display Scoreboard HELP!!

Hello,
First I must say Im really new to all of this and really have no idea what I'm doing. up to this point I have only assembled pre-made kits and electrical schematics look like Klingon to me.

Having said that, Im working on building a very simple scoreboard for a rod hockey table that I have custom built from the ground up over the last few years.
At first I had been using a scoreboard from a table that I purchased for parts, and all was working until I mounted the full jumbotron, and now its dead.

What I would like to do is build my own scoring system that I know is reliable.
It needs to do the fallowing:

(1) simply I need 2 --3/4" seven segment displays each starting at 0 and counting up to 9 and then reseting (also a button to reset manually).

(2) The Switch: I have a rail system the delivers the puck to the ejector after each goal (returns puck into play). I would like an IR or some sort of Optical switch to trigger each pulse/count. as the puck passes thru. (the puck is to light to trigger any kind of momentary switch)

(3) all of the lighting and other table systems are running off a modified PC power supply, so if it can run off either 5 or 12v would be ideal so I might wire it right into the same system.

If anyone could help me out I would be very grateful! I have been trying to get something to work for a long time now and Im loosing my mind. PLEASE HELP!

Thank you
N

It would be a trivial task in one of the μprocessors, I use Picmicro's but there may be a bit of learning curve if you have not used these in the past, there is also Arduino, which i have not used but is popular.
M.

It would be a trivial task in one of the μprocessors, I use Picmicro's but there may be a bit of learning curve if you have not used these in the past, there is also Arduino, which i have not used but is popular.
M.
Minder has made a great point.