Maker Pro
Maker Pro

I'm will be using a 555 timer and want to hold or lock the signal.

First ... I am a complete newbie who by accident was able to fix my monitor by finding and replacing a bad (but still looking good) capacitor. So now I'm hooked on electronics and am trying to understand different circuits. So.... I want to energize a coil to counteract a magnetic attraction. I have seven coils and want to be able to control the timer by using a variable resistor. So far so good. I want to power coil 1 until coil 4 is powered. ditto coil 3 until coil 6 is fired. and on around until I get back to coil 1. I want to use the pulse that energizes coil 1 to shut off or unlock the power to coil #4. The coils will fire in the order of 1,3,5,7,2,4 and 6, then start over. The speed of firing will be controlled by the VResistor. Can I use two NAND gates to fire up coil #1 and then have the pulse from the firing up of coil # 5 shut the power down.
I am over my head already but I'm trying to figure out if it can be done.
Thanks
Slim_Jim (And that's not accurate either)

(*steve*)

¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd
Perhaps you could start by telling us what "magnetic attraction" you're trying to counteract, and why it is that you need 7 coils to do that.

As a complete newbie (your term) it is better to tell us what the problem is than to tell us what your solution is. If your solution is wrong, we may lead you to producing something that operates correctly, but fails to work.