Maker Pro
Maker Pro

IGBT ignition coil driver

Hi all,

I'm making a programmable ignition module for a very old scooter and have made the below schematic however I've found that with a multimeter in place of the coil the voltage switches correctly and I see 12V however when I put the coil in place the voltage stays at 0V.

The IGBT is this one: HGTP7N60C3D

Any ideas what I'm doing wrong? I'm not very good at the electronics side of things unfortunately.

Thanks for any advice!

schematic_v2.png

Last edited:
You are looking at the right thing, the threshold voltage is where the device just starts to conduct. There will be enough current to drive a voltmeter but not to do any useful work. The data sheet shows a graph giving the gate votage necessary for the required output current.

You want a voltage follower or common collector circuit. Right now when the transistor is off the gate will be held high. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Common_collector
Notice how Vout is on the emitter side with the resistor connected between Vout and Gnd

I don't think you will need the cap from base to ground, it will just delay the turn off time of the BJT.

You want a voltage follower or common collector circuit. Right now when the transistor is off the gate will be held high. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Common_collector
Notice how Vout is on the emitter side with the resistor connected between Vout and Gnd

I don't think you will need the cap from base to ground, it will just delay the turn off time of the BJT.

Ah yes, you're right, silly me.

Thanks guys for the help. I'll give it a shot after work tonight.

(*steve*)

¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd
That transistor can't be turned significantly on -- it won't work any better than the original. I'll see if I can find something for you. I'm not at home so I can't draw anything for you.

(*steve*)

¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd
Something like this would be better

attachment.php