Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Help with Casio keyboard not working

Hello,

This is my first time posting on this forum, I didn't know where else to turn.

My wife last week decided that she wanted to teach our 4 year old keyboard. The only problem was that we didn't have a keyboard and that she didn't know how to pay one. I knew my dad had an old keyboard - Casio 465 Sound Tone Bank CT-638 that was just collecting dust so I figured that was very convenient, so I asked to borrow it. My wife went straight to Youtube and watched video after video of keyboard lessons. The keyboard worked great, no issues. She stayed up quite last the last week watching keyboard tutorials on Youtube! She was learning a lot and was showing our son a little bit everyday (as much as he would tolerate)

Fast forward to today, she goes to turn it on and the red power light comes on, but when you hit the keys you can barely hear any noise. Even with the volume on max, the sounds is very very faint, you almost cant hear it, you have to put your ear next to the speaker to pick up on it. So I Plugged in some head phones and same thing, very very faint music when you hit the keys, you can barely hear it.

I'm not sure where to start. I don't know if its a coincidence that after a week of "heavy use" something has gone bad. Im guessing it correlated.

So the only obvious thing I could find was the power supply. The keyboard asks for 9VDC. My power adapter is rated at 9VDC 300mA. When I put my multimeter to it it reads 11.72 VDC. I'm not sure if that could have damaged something that it was almost 3 volts more than its supposed to be.

Other than that I'm not really sure where to start. I was trying to find someone with a similar issue online and I couldn't. I've uploaded some pictures below. Let me know what else I can do, I really want to fix this thing as it's my dads and so that my wife can continue to play and learn.

Thanks!
IMG-20210130-WA0013.jpg
IMG-20210130-WA0015.jpg
IMG-20210130-WA0016.jpg