Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Capacitor not exploding with over voltage?

I dissembled a cheap bug zapper racket and noticed the capacitor is rated for 400v. When I removed the capacitor and measured points that connect to the capacitor with a multimeter they measured an output of 930v (input 3.3v).

Maybe I'm being stupid but why is the capacitor not failing even though the voltage is over double the capacitors max rated? Is it because it's not under load or something? :confused:
I'm still a newb to electronics.

Thanks.

Harald Kapp

The capacitor is a type of load for the HV-circuit, so if you re-insert the capacitor the voltage will probably much lower.

As jackorocko said: be careful!

Harald

"Capacitor not exploding with over voltage?"
Lucky you!!!

When i was a kid I had an electronics kit. One of the experiments in the kit had me wire up a way to get 90V from 4.5V. It was cool. You could feel a tingle in your fingers when you touched it. I can't remember exactly how it was done. Probably some sort of pulse modulated thing. It was very low amperage. Nothing harmful. Safe for kids. Cute demonstration.

I thought what if I store that in a capacitor that has a voltage rating lower than 90V?? It might take a while, but could I destroy the cap?? (That was my goal... destroy a cap.) So I had an electrolytic that came with the kit with a voltage rating lower than 90. I think it was a 3.3uf or 10uf or 100uf. Can't remember.

It took a while to ramp up and I watched the voltage on a meter, but it never got there. I figured out that the meter was saping some of the charge, so I disconnected it and just waited. Eventually it blew and the casing bounced off my forehead. (because... OF COURSE I was leaning over it watching and waiting.) It stung. No big deal. Right?