Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Wireless proximity detector that goes off when blocked

I'm fairly new to the field of circuit building. I noticed that there are many simple proximity detectors that can be made really cheaply, however there all of these detect when objects get close I'm trying to build a very simple circuit that will be just as cheap but detects when an object is no longer there
Eg.such as when the cookie jar is low on cookies
I don't believe in prefab microcontrollers for my simple projects as I'm incredibly cheap so any help would be greatly appreciated

Weigh scales - alarm on minimum weight.

While that's an outstanding idea if I wanted to make sure grandma takes her pills. I'm going more along the lines of the hopper is almost empty. essentially something that goes off and tells me "hey dum dum put more pellets in me so you can stay warm"
But most proximity sensors are set to go off when something gets to close I need it to go off when it's not blocked
Similar to a magnetic door or window alarm just without the magnet

Proximity detectors rely on the physical attributes of the object being detected - the human body is a massive sack of s**t - errr, I mean water which is easily detected (it alters tuned circuits by capacitance) but the likes of cookies (as your example) hold little water or any property that has an effect, resistively, capacitively or inductively. The only useful attribute is weight.

You might get away by using ultra sonic range finding modules to detect the 'absence' of an object but these work on the 'hardness' of the object.

It doesn't matter if a proximity detector has something that gets too close or even too far away - both scenarios will create a signal that can be used to activate an alarm (or whatever) thus satisfying your 'detect-it-if-it's-not-there' requirement.