Maker Pro
Maker Pro

What soldering iron for iPod nano battery replacement

Hi
My iPod nano 3rd generations charge has been getting lower recently and now it only lasts about 10 minutes so I have decided to replace the battery. I was wondering what soldering iron I should get? As I am not sure at how many watts it needs to be. Also if it make any difference I am a beginner at soldering. Thanks in advance.

davenn

hi there :)

a 25W with a good fine tip ( ~ 1mm) would be ideal
if you can afford to and would make lots of use of it in time to come, get a temperature controlled one :)

Dave

Thanks, as I am just going to be using it for this one repair I think it will just get a cheap 25watt one. With a 25watt soldering iron could I easily damage the logic board?

davenn

if you are not careful and start trying to unsolder things not associated with the battery

Dave

(*steve*)

¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd
The best advice is to find some old electronics and practice soldering similar sized wires similarly close to other components without damaging them.

That iron should work, as advised if you can practice on some long broken items and get a feel on how to solder before you jump into the Nano...

Thanks for the quick reply, I think I'm going to get a couple of the electronics kits from maplin that you make yourself to practice on :)

Its a surface mount kit you want then if you want to practice the fine details. Maplin dont do those. Try coolcomponents.com

Thanks, I have just orderd one of the kist from the cool components website. I have one more question though, I am also going to be repairing a freinds xbox in the near future, what solering iron would be best for a xbox repair? Should I use a 25 watt soldering iron for that aswell?

Define 'repair Xbox' most of the common repairs to the Xbox need to be done with a reflow oven or hot air rework station, not a solder iron as the common failure is BGA chips and you can't use a solder iron to place/fix those...

(*steve*)