Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Sony KV-8AD11 ac/dc TV power on issues.

The TV has been working fine for many years and recently won't power on. The a/c power cord is fine, as I've tried it on another old Sony TV and it works fine. As an attempt to eliminate different parts, I tried to power the TV in my car with the d/c power cord and it powered up immediately.

This made me think the power supply board was bad, so I bought a brand-new one (6A00349-2). After installing it the results are the same...no power with a/c cord and works fine with d/c cord.

Is the next part to replace the main board? I have no knowledge, or tools, to test any internal electronic parts, hence the user name. Lol I do have knowledge of working on computers, so not afraid to dive in and replace the main board, it that might be the next thing to do.

Short of taking it to a repair shop, anyone have any thoughts on what else may be the culprit?

Thanks,
John

Connector D601 appears to be a 4 pin connector and the markings on it suggest a remote bridge rectifier. ( 2 AC markings and 2 DC, positive and negative)

Has this been checked.

Difficult for you to do anything unless you have even a basic understanding and a multimeter.

Connector D601 appears to be a 4 pin connector and the markings on it suggest a remote bridge rectifier. ( 2 AC markings and 2 DC, positive and negative)

Has this been checked.

Difficult for you to do anything unless you have even a basic understanding and a multimeter.

I found the D601 connector, but it came attached to the new power supply board. I have a multimeter, but I have no idea what settings to use to test this connector.

Last edited:
It's not to test the connector, rather, to see and check what is hooked to the other end of it.

Would help to supply a few photos of what you can see there, we are flying blind.

Have a feeling this is going nowhere and you need somone with some electronics experience.