Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Soliciting advice: Starting an online embedded systems career

I'm currently soliciting advice on how to move my career to the online space. It seems to make financial sense because of purchasing power parity considering I live in the Philippines. I'm planning to include PIC, Atmel, and Raspberry Pi in my portfolio. After I graduated BS Electronics Engineering, a 5-year course, I became a Test Product Engineer for a year and a half in a company that makes Mixed-Signal Integrated Circuits where I gained experience debugging/optimizing IC test programs written in C++ and Visual Basic. Currently in an unrelated field for a year and a half as well. Generally, what advice can you give me on making a roadmap towards establishing a stable career as an embedded systems developer online?

I have specific questions below:
  1. How can I assess myself on whether I can already market myself as an embedded systems developer for hire? Perhaps I should start with marketing myself only on a single microcontroller family only? I suppose Arduino would be a good start then.
  2. Am I allowed to ask for help in a public forum such as this if I am stumped on a work project?
  3. With regards to PIC microcontrollers, I have only developed for the PIC16 series, and only in school and not professionally. Which PIC series would be more in-demand in the online job market? And how different or similar would that be from developing for the PIC16 series? In college I have tried coding for PIC using three different IDEs: Microcode Studio, MikroC, and MPLAB. So I've coded PIC16 in BASIC, C, and assembly.
  4. I'm planning to market myself as a freelancer on Upwork. Is there a better online freelancing platform which suits the niche of Embedded Systems Development?