Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Photo Sensor Project Question

Hello, new to the forums here and somewhat of a newbie to electronics. I have a project I'm working on and was hoping to get some help with the electronic components. So here goes....

I bought 5' of this LED Strip: LED Strip, a 12v 12w 1A Power Supply, and this RGB Controller: RGB Controller. Everything works great, I've even been able to cut the LED Strip into sections and solder wires between the sections. The part I'm having trouble with is that I want to add a photo sensor, photoresistor, or phototransistor to have the LED's turn on automatically when the room gets dark. Through investigation I've found that there are many ways to do this, but it appears one of the simplest methods seems to utilize an NPN transistor as seen here:
Circuit1.jpg

I've tried this circuit with success using this kit: Electronic Snap Kits
Juvenile I know but like I said I'm a beginner and it was on sale at Radio Shack :p
So how do I integrate this NPN transistor schematic into my project with:
A) The electricity being supplied by the 12v 12w 1A Power Supply and/or RGB controller instead of 2 AA batteries.
B) The LED being a 5' strip or RGB LED's instead of a single LED.
C) The resistor, NPN transistor and photo sensor being bought from Fry's or Radio Shack.
:confused:

Thanks in advance!

(*steve*)

¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd
Firstly, your circuit does not have a resistor to limit the current through the LED. That is a bad thing, but I realise that this is only to illustrate what you're trying to do.

There are a number of things to consider.

1) You should probably want the circuit to turn the LEDs on and off quickly (i.e. they are either on or off, not half on or off) so as to reduce power dissipation.

2) You need to ensure that the light detector cannot "see" your lights or you will have undesirable behaviour.