Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Networks Of Multivibrators

Thank you. It's been over 40 years since I studied 555s and maybe 20 years since I last built a project from one.
What I'm looking for are projects and applications that used a large number of these types of devices.

555 timers.
At $0.50 they are a popular choice, even if their current consumption while switching gets some negative comments.
Googling 555 timers gets lists of projects devoted to these guys.

Harald Kapp

Imho not a very sensible approach. Of course you could set up a bunch of LEDs, each with its own 555 based multivibrator for a firefly effect as linked to in post #5.
The sensible question would be - just my two cents - I have a project where I want to "whatever you want to do": How would I tackle this project?

I take it you dabbled in electronics many years ago and now want to come back to your old hobby? While the 555 is a venerable component and still widely available: have you considered starting with a fresh view e.g. by using microcontrollers? The Arduino line of microcontrollers is an excellent starting point - even comes with a blinking LED as your first project ;)

My original idea was to emulate the processes of a neuron. That part's pretty straightforward, but assembling a number of 555s to emulate the behavior of a cluster of neurons was beyond my ability to design. I was just wondering if anyone ever did anything using a number of interconnected 555s.
I know my initial question wasn't very clear, but I wanted to see if I would get useful replies from directions I hadn't thought of.

Imho not a very sensible approach. Of course you could set up a bunch of LEDs, each with its own 555 based multivibrator for a firefly effect as linked to in post #5.
The sensible question would be - just my two cents - I have a project where I want to "whatever you want to do": How would I tackle this project?