Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Need help finding power source for solenoid

I'm a beginner electronic hobbyist and I'm attempting to automate the lock on my door with a 12v 400 ma push pull solenoid. I've got the whole circuit pretty much up and running, using an Arduino to control a relay that cuts on and off power from a wall power supply to the push pull solenoid. Heres my problem, all the power supplies I've ordered, even if they say 12v 400ma, cause the solenoid to become extremely hot after a few minutes and I'm not exactly trying to burn down my house. Obviously in this case the power supply outputs something different then what its rated for, but I've already bought two (the first time I forgot to check the amperage rating before I bought it so that was my fault) and I don't wanna throw too much money into this. I was considering ordering a custom nicd battery instead but thats out of the question due to some battery shipping laws that require signature, and id rather go the plug in to the wall route anyway. If anyone could maybe send a link to a more competent power supply or if anyone has any other ideas, that would be extremely helpful, thank you.

Can you link to the solenoid? Push- pull indicates to me that one pulse pulls it in and the next one releases it. It sounds like you are powering it continuously, which might not be allowed and explains why it would overheat.

Bob

(*steve*)

¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd
I would advise you to look for an electronic strike plate. These are designed for this application. That solenoid may not be designed for continuous operation.

It sounds like you are powering it continuously, which might not be allowed and explains why it would overheat.
That would be my guess, too.
How you get that particular solenoid to push (other than relying on the spring return)? Looks to me like it's pull only, misleadingly described as push-pull.

hevans1944

Hop - AC8NS