Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Light glow along a path and stairs following distance movement

Hi,

I am looking to illuminate a path to my house and up some stairs using a distance sensor to detect a persons position.

I have attached a sketch of what I am trying to achieve at various stages.

I wish to make 2 strips approx 5m long light up with a glow at the distance someone is detected along the path half a meter behind fading to off and half a meter in front of detection fading to off and follow the persons movements along the path until arrival at the stairs. Then 2m strips attached to the tread nosings light up for each tread in sequence until the sensor cannot detect any more (approx 200mm in front of sensor) and the lights fade out to off.

I am completely new to this kind of electronics and have searched through quite a few forums but nobody seems to have done anything similar or used my sensor. I did think that a loop detecting a fixed distance and converted to specific leds being lit would be easy but it seems to be a lot more ambitious than I thought especially making the glow.

Due to the distance involved I have purchased a me007-uls v1 waterproof long range ultrasonic sensor. This will be attached into the face of the top step looking centrally down the path and stairs.

I have :
4 x 5m of WS2812B 5V led strips 30 leds per m.
2 x 300w 60A 5v power supplies
2 x Arduino nano v2
1 x Wemos D1 mini
10 x 25v 1000uf caps for end of led strips.
100m of 16 awg wire

My Questions.

1 Can I do all this in 5v with a single controller or do I need to separate the stairs?
2 Can anybody help me with the code required completely lost with this.
3 Can I use the controllers I have or is there a better option.
4 Best practice for a wiring circuit and additional parts I require.

Many thanks for any help with this.

Craig.

Attachments

• STEPS sequencing.pdf
    136.7 KB · Views: 63