Maker Pro
Maker Pro

How to switch off an audio signal

hi guys

I need help with a switch that needs to operate to cut off a feed when a voltage is applied
I was thinking of using a transistor as a switch.

The Switch will be disabling a microphone as one of the Microphones wires pass through the switch /transistor that is always on.

So needs to be low voltage I will be supplying the switch from a sound control sensor switch with an adjustable Delay time:±10-30s

And basically that's it'.

What type of switch or transistor should i be looking for on ebay please

Really appreciate any help
smiley.gif

ha sorry if the question is confusing but i don't know how to explain it. Big thanks for replying :)

Ok I am a novice to electronics,

Im not really sure how to explain it lol here goes

I have made a robot that Listens through Voice recognition software and responds with recorded voice samples by Macro commands.

It works fantastic but' I have one small problem

When the robot speaks the microphone picks up the sound loop and triggers off another command without finishing off the last sentence.

So what I need is when sound is playing through the speaker the microphone is switched off.

I was thinking of using a sound to light device and instead of the voltage feeding a light it will go to a switch that when a voltage applied turns off.

So one of the microphones wires will pass through a switch that is always in the contact position and then when the voltage is applied the contact opens up therefore disconnecting the microphone.

I have searched for a month and been on many forums asking help but all I got was ignorance and abuse I cannot understand why its a perfectly logical question.

So what I am looking for is a switch that is always on and when a low DC voltage applied it turns of / disconnect's the input - output

I hope I have explained a bit better and will be very grateful if anyone can tell me what the switch or device is called that I am looking for. :)