Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Help! Transistor radio converted into amp

Hi, I'm new here... I have a few questions related to converting an old transistor radio into a guitar amplifier. I've looked at several videos and posts about it, but they all seem very vague on exactly how to do it. What I'm confused about is what is used to touch the volume potentiometer, and also, does that somehow make the radio aspect of the radio stop functioning, or...? I saw that you have to find the diode and disconnect it, but I'm not very good at electronics yet... I'm not understanding... how do you solder the input jack to the volume, what type of audio input jack is required and how to drill the appropriate size hole for the input jack or output jack...

Sir Soulwyvern84 . . . . . . .

I'm thinking that feat might be comparative to my using a sled dog on a "hamster wheel" to power my big Mer-say-dees . . . .MUSH !

First of all the "radio" needs to be up in the power order of a "Boom Box" to get any appreciable playing level.
You might then think that the connection of the guitar to the radio would be the installation of a female phone jack for the guitars male phone plug.
With need of only 2 connections made to its mate in the radio.
The connections would be across the two very extreme ends of the volume control.
That then gets the guitar wired into the "radio".
Now here is where the "dog" analogy comes in, your volume control is requiring in the order of a half of a volt of audio signal across it.
Your guitar pick up is putting out in the order of a mere five thousandths of a volt ..
Sooooo you need to amplify that guitar pick ups signal in excess of 100 times.
So you need a preamp installed inline between the two.
References to usable possibilities:

https://www.google.com/search?newwi...18.0....0...1c.1.64.hp..0.18.1707.Djruj3e8a1o

OR use a separate wireless mike to acoustically pick up the sound and it transmits a radio signal to your boom box's radio.