Maker Pro
Maker Pro

adding fans and heatsinks to components

so ive been wanting to add some 12v fans and heatsinks to some different things like my hifi reciever, blu ray whatever really.i have extra parts and time. im new to modding and thought adding fans would b a good place to start. my question is how can i attach a fan to the transformer of my hifi so it powers on and off with the reciever. if i can find something that is 12v, then if i find something how will i know thatit is safe to connect to it so the fan will not pull to much amps and burn up whatever. what would be good for connections as i only want one ac plug to power fans on various components.

davenn

hi there
welcome

most of your standard computer fans are very low current draw ... usually less than 500mA, most in the ~ 250mA range
just find a 12V rail that you can power it off
There are lots of different sizes of fans as you may well realise, just pick one that fits into your device :)

thank you should i splice it in closer to the transformer before it has the chance to possibly interfere with signal/sound quality? i tend to overthink stuff and then worry about frying something ; i would say this is another one. one more stupid question, there are some chips or processors that get pretty hot on the boards (yes chips not transistors or regulators) and i would like to put heatsinks on them how do i go about attaching them. i know to use compound and that i mean physically hold them tight when there is no way to drill a hole or add a spring (or is there?)

Last edited:

hevans1944

Hop - AC8NS
thank you should i splice it in closer to the transformer before it has the chance to possibly interfere with signal/sound quality? ...