Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Yamaha Receiver HDMI out port problem - trying to troubleshoot PCB

Hello – this is my first post here. I’m really new to electronics so I’m hoping for some help here.

Previously I was able to fix a plasma tv by learning, based on help on youtube, what the problem was for my specific brand and then buying a resistor and soldering it on. I was pretty happy that someone with my limited experience could fix something like that, but it was really not all that hard given that the problem, due to the symptoms, was directly given in a video.

Now, I’m on to a new challenge, and this will be a little more difficult. I have a Yamaha Receiver (HTR-6063) which is the same as the RX-V667. I came back from a week vacation and upon my return was getting the “no signal” on my tv. All my source components are connected to HDMI-in’s on the receiver, and the HDMI-out (only 1) is connected to my TV. It worked perfectly prior to my vacation. However, now I only get “no signal”. I know it’s the receiver due to troubleshooting. It’s not the TV (it’s fine), not the cables (they’re fine), and when I connect a source through the receiver using component cables (and component cables to the tv) it works fine. Therefore, I know it’s a problem with the receiver and specifically something to do with the HDMI-out (all sources on the HDMI-ins give “no signal” on the tv). Prior to going on vacation, I unplug all my electronics and the receiver was unplugged. BTW, the sound from the HDMI sources works fine through my speakers. Just the HDMI-out from the receiver to the TV isn’t working. I cannot find anything on youtube or forums for this specific problem, at least not anything with a suggested fix, so I have to try to diagnose the problem myself.