Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Toggle between 2 LEDs on separate circuits in the same circuit?

Hello,

I am completely new to electronics! I have done many searches, and I have some solutions, but I am not understanding very well what I am reading, so I am posting here for help.

I am wanting to make a switch that turns the cooling fans for my radiators in my car on at low speed or high speed. This I can do without help. However, I want to use an OEM switch and re-purpose it for my needs, so I can avoid switches that look like they don't belong.

The switch I am using was a potentiometer. You can see it taken apart in the photos. Now I have been practicing making a replacement circuit using the sharpie method and it works. You can see this in the photos as well, although the pattern is not the one I will use. Attached is the pattern that I do think will work. Power is 12v

- When the rotary switch points down, the high speed fans will turn on and the LED will be red
- When the wheel is up, the low speed fans will turn on and the LED will be yellow
- When the wheel is in middle position, fans are off.
- When the headlights are on (turning on the blue light illumination in all the interior switches) and the fans are off, the LED is blue

Do to the small area inside the switch housing, I don't think I can go with separate LEDs, so I figured to use a tri-colour LED instead. 1 bulb, but 3 colours.

So the problem I have is to get the yellow colour when I turn on the low speed fans (i don't want to use green unless there is nothing else) I need to power both the red and the green. But I can't figure how to do this and have only the red LED light up when the high speed fan is turned on.

Another problem, is when the interior lights are on, the blue LED will light up, which is what I want. But I want the blue LED to turn off when the fans are swtiched on. I think I can do this with relays, but need suggstions. I am not understanding transistors very well.

Attachments