Maker Pro
Maker Pro

The Dark Side

I'm a mechanical engineer suddenly drawn to the dark side. I'm learning a lot with my eBay purchased Radio Shack electronics learning lab and I'm intrigued by an effect I've noticed while playing around with the "Two Transistor Dual-LED Flasher" circuit (page 60 of Workbook 1: I'm assuming there are a few of these things about). I'm probing around the circuit with a volt meter, surprised to see 10V when the supply voltage is 7V. I'm thinking that there must be an effect similar to a "Charge Pump" going on due to the circuit's pairs of capacitors and transistors? Another head-scratcher is that the voltage measured across the capacitors has it's polarity reversed e.g. the terminal identified as positive on the capacitor case (which is consistent with the circuit schematic) measures negative relative to the other terminal. If anyone is familiar with this Radio Shack kit I'd be grateful for any insights into what's going on. Not being able to figure it out is driving me mildly nuts.

Harald Kapp

I think you refer to the kit described in this manual. Next time please add a schematic diagram of your circuit (e.g. a screenshot or a pdf).
The operation of a transistor astable multivibrator (that's what this circuit is) is described e.g. here or probably better here, alas for NPN transistors (which is the way more common circuit). But the circuit works in the same way, only polarities are inversed.

surprised to see 10V when the supply voltage is 7V