Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Technique Question

Sorry for all the questions, but I am truly a newbie and am getting a lot out of this new hobby. The people here have been great!

So here's another:

I am working with the 555IC. The project requires me to connect pins 98 and 2. and pins 2 and 6.

I have gone beyond the breadboard stage and and m=now working with a regular board (the kind with the pre drilled, pre soldered holes)

I am not very good at building solder bridges between components. I can solder a pin in place, but to build a solder bridge (or line) between two pins ot components, is not somethign I can do well. I find that each time I try, the solder does not travel as neatly as the videos I watch online. And I beleive a=I am using good and thin solder.

So, until i develop that skill, any advice on how to join pins 4 and 8. and 2 and 6. If I use wires underneath, they overlap, so i would have to use very small wires that have an insulating sleeve on them- which can get pretty intricate to pull off.

bertus

Hello,

Here are several PDF's on soldering.

Bertus

Attachments

• soldering_basics.pdf
    321.4 KB · Views: 10
  • soldering_smd.pdf
    102.6 KB · Views: 7
  • soldering-1.pdf
    284.3 KB · Views: 2
  • soldering.pdf
    80.8 KB · Views: 1
Thank-you. I actually prefer to read and learn, rather than get handed answers. The problem is, there is a lot of misinformation on the net. If someone here refers me to a good source, i am very pleased to read up and find the answer.

Thanks Bertus!

The project requires me to connect pins 98 and 2.
breadboard stage and and m=now working with a regular board

And I beleive a=I am using good and thin solder.

Do everyone a favour and proof read your input.

In reply to other query on soldering, it is essential that the soldering surface is clean and free from contaminants.
For example, acid from handling.