Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Student Helmet Project

I am a student and am making a helmet for a class project. I only know basic soldering and am pretty good with computers.

I would like the helmet to have some cool features like lights and moving parts. More specifically:

• When you get within 3 feet of the helmet, it turns on EL tape in the left eye and an LED light in the right eye.
  • Two fans in either side of the helmet would turn on
  • Hidden speaker would play one of 3 programmed sentences (I can record the voice).

The helmet will be hallow and can hold items such as batteries / wires / etc. I would like the battery to last at least a year without being replaced with occasional use.

Please see attached image to get an idea.

I don't know enough about electronics to make this happen. Can anyone tell me how I would best set the aforementioned system up? Also, where is the best place to buy the components?

Thank you in advance for your time.

Attachments

• helmet_setup.jpg
    helmet_setup.jpg
    38.2 KB · Views: 124
A couple questions, Is this helmet going to be used as a saftey device, such as on a bike?
A arduino or raspberry PI may be a good controller for this project.

I am a student and am making a helmet for a class project. I only know basic soldering and am pretty good with computers.

I would like the helmet to have some cool features like lights and moving parts. More specifically:

• When you get within 3 feet of the helmet, it turns on EL tape in the left eye and an LED light in the right eye.
  • Two fans in either side of the helmet would turn on
  • Hidden speaker would play one of 3 programmed sentences (I can record the voice).

The helmet will be hallow and can hold items such as batteries / wires / etc. I would like the battery to last at least a year without being replaced with occasional use.

Please see attached image to get an idea.