Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Sony TA-AX235 Protection

Hello,
It's my first time on electronicspoint, so I'm not sure that I am posting where I should be. Nonetheless, here goes:

I have a Sony TA-AX235. I opened it up a few days ago in order to clean the pots and change the thermal paste between the amplifier and the radiator. I cleaned the pots and switches with contact cleaner, let it sit for about an hour, in order for the cleaner to evaporate and then assembled it back and plugged it in. It worked, no more crackling switches and such...

The next day, when I powered it on, instead of waiting a few seconds, and then starting, the relay kept closing and opening back almost instantaneously. I'm not very good with electronics. It's my fist time trying to fix something as complicated as this.

I checked that the +/-35V and +/-12V values are correct, that the rectifier diodes are working, redid some solder joints that I thought might have disconnected whilst handling. What I found was that that the voltage on pins 10 and 13 of the power IC, instead of being close to 0V, were at about -22.7V and I'm kind of stuck at this point. I have no idea on what should be done further.

So, in other words, I am requesting some help.

Link to the service manual: http://freeservicemanuals.info/servi.../Sony/ta-ax230.

Thank You!

(*steve*)

¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd
I wonder if there was any insulating material between the device and the heatsink that you removed and failed to replace.

(and why would you bother to open it to change the thermal paste?)

(*steve*)

¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd
What sort of contact cleaner did you use?

Did any spill on the board?

Is it possible that any flexible connectors or cables were left disconnected or were reconnected incorrectly, or have become pinched in something during reassembly?

By the way, your link to the service manual is broken.