Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Sony Ericsson CST-60 Charger

Hi guys, an SE CST-60 charger doesn't work anymore after the wires going into the pins (not from the mains) touched each other.

I did google for a CST-60 circuit diagram but couldn't find one.

There might have certainly been a safety measure implemented to protect the whole circuit. I'm a total newbie in this but still I'm guessing maybe it's the diode which directly gets connected to the mains.

Opinion from others is greatly required.

Is this a cell phone A/C desk charger or a car charger?

Diodes should first be checked with a DMM to determine if they are bad or not before trying to replace them.

It's an AC wall-wart charger.

Unless it's an easy obvious fix, I wouldn't risk fixing it. If it's repaired improperly, it might be a fire hazard or damage the phone.

You can get a new one at Buy.com or amazon for about $6 shipped to your door.

I don't think you can beat $6 for a brand new one, but RadioShack (AT&T dealer) or an AT&T store might have some used ones laying around, that used to be paired with now un-repairable phones.

It's an AC wall-wart charger.

Unless it's an easy obvious fix, I wouldn't risk fixing it. If it's repaired improperly, it might be a fire hazard or damage the phone.

You can get a new one at Buy.com or amazon for about $6 shipped to your door.

I don't think you can beat $6 for a brand new one, but RadioShack (AT&T dealer) or an AT&T store might have some used ones laying around, that used to be paired with now un-repairable phones.

Yea you're right. But if it can be fixed easily then why not.
There's a zener diode at the circuit out. You think that can be the problem.

Yea you're right. But if it can be fixed easily then why not.
There's a zener diode at the circuit out. You think that can be the problem.

Possibly ... do you know how to remove it from the circuit and check it?