Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Servo control of Outboard Motor Gearshift with 3 Switches

I have an idea to control my outboard motor (8HP) gearshift with a three switch array, Forward,nuetral and astern just by press and release switches.The installation would be hard wired for about 6 metres and connected directly to the servo which will be mounted directly to the shift ,(no Bowden Cables).
The same hard wired system would be used for the gas control where the servo is mounted directly above the carb and controlled by a Potentiometer .
I am a total newby to controlers ,computer programs etc and need some brains to help me.Thank you in advance for your time

Welcome to EP!
An interesting scheme, but quite a challenge even for seasoned hobbyists.
Do you have mechanical engineering skills and facilities?
Do you have any experience in building electronic gadgets?

Welcome to EP!
An interesting scheme, but quite a challenge even for seasoned hobbyists.
Do you have mechanical engineering skills and facilities?
Do you have any experience in building electronic gadgets?
Hi Alec-T thanks for the prompt reply, I have engineering skills and facilities,My electronic skills are limited to put it lightly ,but am willing to learn.The mount for the gas servo is made, the GS servo mount is quite simple .I have bought a Genuino kit to learn on and can read schematics.

The Geniuno looks more than capable. Even a smaller micro would do the job, since monitoring three switches and a pot and outputing appropriate signals to two servos in no particular hurry doesn't seem too demanding :) . The software will need to cater for safety features, such as not allowing instant reversal of direction. I'm sure there's some forum member here to help you with that if required.
Do you already have servo drivers?