Maker Pro
Maker Pro

RF Mixer

Experts,

I am having a RF receiver with 1960 MHz and 60 MHz of bandwidth. I am trying to bring down the frequency to 10.7 MHz and 30 KHz of bandwidth before passing this through a demodulator. I would like to use at least two IF mixers to bring the frequency down to 10.7 MHz. Please help me find the best suitable values to bring the frequency down. I have attached layout of the circuit. There are additional filters in the design as well. I am confused how the bandwidth is getting reduced to 30 KHz, is that using Mixer of IF filter.

Thanks
Snook

Attachments

• Capture.JPG
    Capture.JPG
    45.1 KB · Views: 211
I'm no expert, but perhaps I can give you a start.
I think the confusion is between the bandwidth (BW) of the signal and the BW of the filters.
When a radio signal is created, a nominal carrier frequency is modulated with an information

signal and new frequencies called sidebands are created. There are several ways of doing this: a

radio wave can have it's amplitude, frequecy and phase varied, or a combination of them.
Probably the simplest example is amplitude modulation (AM). Say an audio signal containing

frequencies from 300Hz to 12kHz is modulated onto a carrier at 1MHz. A 12kHz tone will generate

frequencies at 0.988MHz and 1.012MHz. A 300Hz tone will generate frequencies at 0.997MHz and

1.003MHz. Other audio tones will generate other frequencies in this range 0.998-1.012MHz, meaning

that the radio signal will be composed of a mixture of frequencies in this range - a bandwidth of

24kHz centred on 1MHz.
For the reciever to reconstruct the original audio signal, it need to receive all these sideband

frequencies and to demodulate them.
If the receiver has filters which are narrower than the BW of the signal, some sideband

frequencies are lost and the reconstructed signal is distorted. That may or may not matter,

depending on the context and on the degree of distortion. Some distortion is inevitable.