Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Replacing LCD instrument readout with LED readout.

Hi all,
Total newbie at electronics. I am just asking this question to gauge feasibility of my idea. I have a calibratable external temperature gauge for my car, far more accurate than the OEM temp gauge. My problem is the gauge has a rather dull, very lightly backlit lcd screen. I thought it would be a great idea to replace the lcd screen with an led screen so the numbers could be lit. The unit as it is now looks like the first image with the green background. What I would like is red led numbers. Is this feasible or more trouble than its worth?
upload_2020-12-13_22-15-21.png
upload_2020-12-13_22-15-39.png

Harald Kapp

Is this feasible or more trouble than its worth?
It may be feasible but will require considerable effort. The control circuitry for LCDs is very different from the one for LEDs. One would have to decode the LCD signals and convert them to suitable LED signals.
Considering that you had to ask, I doubt this is within your capabilities.

It may be possible and probably easier to increase the brightness of the dull backlight. You'd have to open the display and find the current control for the LED backlight, possibly only one or more resistors. You could then replace the resistor(s) by ones with less resistance to increase brightness.

I'd imagine that *most* of the cheap generics, are closer to accurate than the difference between air temp and road temp.

Then again if the interest is accuracy at 0, seems like you could use some pull up/down resistors to accomplish that if there isn't a pot in it to adjust. Having never done this, I wonder if it would make accuracy worse towards the upper end of its range but that may not matter.