Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Recommendation for a noob.

Hi all, I have been lucky recently and been given boxes of electronics. From test equipment to components. It is all a little dated but nonetheless nice to have.
Serial port Pico scopes etc probably not worth keeping but to my question... In the boxes I found several PicKit 2 and 3 programmers. I am seriously looking into studying some kind of programming for micro controllers but have no idea which would be easier. Arduino with readily available sketches and large forums or PicKit which I know zero about.
I have looked on Youtube for both but being a complete novice, neither really made much sense.
The Arduino uses Atmega (as far as I know). That can be programmed via uploading a sketch?. The Picket is uploaded via Mlab and downloaded to a specific micro controller?. Are they compatible?. Can a program be uploaded to PicKet and downloaded to Arduino board?. Sorry for the silly questions but I have never played with micros. Is one better than the other?. What would you recommend I start with?
Thanks for any information you can give and a very merry xmas to you all.

Martin

I've done both and tend to stick to Arduino.
I've found Mplab tends to screw with one's head but I'm sure if it was explained it would seem fairly straight forward.
Thing is I like to get on with the job at hand rather than being shovelled off on a tangent for days at a time.

Plenty of programs out there for Arduino which suit just about any application you can think of.
Load up the free IDE which has included basic programs so you can get a feel for whatever.
With most Arduino, open the program you require,plug in a usb lead, select your particular board, upload.

For most projects I do here, I find the small size of the Arduino pro mini an advantage.
Only difference is one plugs in a usb/ttl converter to program. Once uploaded and tested there is no further need for it so it is disconnected.