Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Really simple concept -- too complex for me.

Hi

Desperately need help. I have NO electronics experience what so ever, so please bare with me.
The project is for a GSXR superbike.
I need a device that will momentarily cut spark going to the ignition coils (12V).
It needs to be triggered by a switch (normally open), with the ability to set the Kill Time (10ms to 150ms range), and the Kill Delay (10ms to 150ms range).
Sounds simple right ? For me .... not so much.
Any schematic / circuit drawing would help alot.
Also trying to keep the costs as low possible.

I will not have an answer for you, but maybe someone will. I don't know.

Some clarifying questions:
Make and model?
I found a website with wiring diagram for GSX-R750 and GSX-R1100, each with multiple years: http://gsxr711.com/content/frame.html
Is one of those your bike?

Do you happen to know how the ignition system works? Is it like a car? 12V to the ignition coil, and then high-voltage along spark plug wires to the plugs which are grounded to the frame??? Is it like that or something different?

Now you said, "momentarily cut spark going to the ignition coils" The spark comes from the coils. (in a car) You want to momentarily cut the 12V that goes to the coils, right?
(momentarily cutting the higher voltage spark would be much more difficult.)

While cutting power to the ignition coil would be easier... Will that work? I am thinking that cutting power to the coil for a very short time, (10 to 150ms) might not prevent it from functioning.

(Of course I'm assuming it works like a car.)
Also, what are you trying to accomplish by doing this? There might be more than one way to accomplish you end goal.

A little more info from you would be nice.

-tim

I think that you could use some time on/time off delay relays, but those get really expensive really quickly

But as Tim said more info about the end goal would allow us to better help you