Maker Pro
Maker Pro

PWM LED DImmer

Hello everyone!

I hate having to ask stupid questions, I'm not an expert in this at all and after quite a bit of research I'm now stuck on a few basic issues.

I'm trying to design and put together a dimming by PWM table lamp with a rotary potentiometer type switch that would dim the light and switch it off. I looked into getting a BuckPuck LED Driver with a 5K potentiometer - https://www.ledsupply.com/led-drivers/buckpuck-dc-led-drivers

However I'm now looking at getting a Mean Well LDD-L (WIired version) Step Down Driver which seems to do the same thing, it's slightly cheaper, smaller and I can get it at my local tech store (pdf attached with driver spec).

My LED spec is 7W / fV 11.0~14.0V / 550mA

So my questions are:

- What power supply do I need for the driver to work with this LED? I'll be using the 500mA driver and I assume the power supply output needs to match the LED input? So would a AC-DC 12v 0.5A power supply work?

- How would I wire up a potentiometer to the driver for the PWM dimming to work? What kind of resistance would the potentiometer need to have? Could the Potentiometer also be used as an on/off function? - Not at all knowledgeable about potentiometers here...

Again, sorry for the basic questions or if they've been asked before. I'm new to this.

Thanks in advance for any help!

Attachments

• LDD-L-spec.pdf
    135.4 KB · Views: 51
The driver has at least 4V drop (difference between minimum input and output) and LED has up to 14.0V forward drop, so adding them you need at least a 18V PSU. To ensure long life from the PSU and ease keeping it cool running, you want significant overhead for current. Since 1A is a common value that seems a good choice, so between 18V and 36V (driver input upper limit) and 1A or higher.

Unless I'm reading the datasheet wrong, only the 1000mA, 1200mA, or 1500mA versions would allow using a POT for analog dimming by pulling the analog dimming pin voltage down to ground.