Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Portable Battery Charging Pod for E-Bike Trailer

Greetings All: I hope I'm in the right place to be asking for suggestions or insight on how to best setup the project I'm about to describe. I'm not in search of "Free-Energy." I mention this because I know how easy it is for inquiries like mine to go off on various tangents and completely miss the purpose of the original questions.

I'm a self-taught fabricator of sorts. Some might call me a chronic tinkerer. I have no problems fabricating out of metal or wood as I have in my home shop a CNC metal mill, a metal lathe among other equipment, but when it comes to anything having to do with electricity or electronics I'm completely out of my element.

My present project involves building a light weight Cross-Country E-Bike trailer for long distance fishing and hunting trips. Building the trailer is easy enough but I want to incorporate a removable onboard charging pod as a component of this bike trailer in order to be able to run off the bike's primary battery while simultaneously charging my secondary or spare battery as I ride.

As I stated above, I'm not looking for free energy or any other pie in the sky technology. What I had in mind was to use an automobile alternator who's input shaft will be spun by the trailer wheels. Here's my dilemma.

In my mind's eye I already know how it will fit into my trailer. What I DON'T KNOW is how to wire it up. The only point of reference I have for anything like this is my home made two-panel solar charger which goes from my solar panels to the charge-controller I have mounted on the wall of my shop; then from there to the 12 volt battery. From the 12 volt battery to a small power inverter with two electrical plugs into which I connect my radio or my fan or other small electrical appliances.