Maker Pro
Maker Pro

PICKIT3 and PIC12F1840

Hi all,

I have ZERO experience with PICs (I have some with AVR). I bought an LED driver that has 5 programming input pins on it, and a PICKIT3 programmer. The designer of the LED driver supplied software that allows you to set the modes you want, and then easily program the driver.

A photo of the driver I built is here (note I have re-flowed the PIC since so the pins that look like they have no connection are fine now):

https://www.dropbox.com/s/8e3e5w7aemsr0ps/IMG_20130713_181423.jpg

You can see the contact pins for the PICKIT3 at 6 O'clock on the board. That's the PIC12F1840 just above them.

When I connect my PICKIT3 and run MPLAB v8.91, I get the following:

PICkit 3 detected
Connecting to PICkit 3...
Running self test...
Self test completed
Firmware Suite Version...... 01.28.72
Firmware type......................Enhanced Midrange
PICkit 3 Connected.
PK3Err0045: You must connect to a target device to use PICkit

I cannot permanently connect my PICKIT to the driver. Besides, the demo videos and instructions are done this way and work fine...

What I do next is to set the PICKIT to power the target circuit. I set this to 4.75V and hit OK. I then get this error:

Target Device ID (00000000) does not match expected Device
ID (00001b80).

Again, I'm guessing it's because the PICKIT is not connected to the PIC itself.

Next I import the PICs firmware, hold the PICKIT3 in position and go to 'Programmer > Program'. It flashes for half a second, and spits this out:

Programming...
The following memory regions failed to program correctly:
Program Memory
Address: 00000000 Expected Value: 00002e3c Received Value: 00003fff
Programming failed

What's happening here? I've re-flowed the PIC to make sure it's all connected. I can't see any shorts on the circuit. The fact it is getting a received value says to me that it is doing something. I just don't know what.