Maker Pro
Maker Pro

PIC Compilers

Hi I am new to Micro controller programming and would like some intel on various compilers available and ways to program the micro controller.

I have tried programming PIC16F877A with the basic codes using Micro C for PIC as compiler and PIC Flash for burning the code.
But they don't have libraries for every PIC controller.
I am looking for more extensive solution which can be used for every micro controller possible.

I have read about MPLAB IDE and XC series of compilers and also PICKIT but I don't have working knowledge of any of those.

I am interested in doing ICSP and the controller I am using for my present project is PIC16LF1786.
However general information about various compilers would be appreciated.

hevans1944

Hop - AC8NS
...I am looking for more extensive solution which can be used for every micro controller possible.

Well, good luck with that. Please let us know when you find this more extensive solution. I would be particularly interested in micro controllers offered in 2015 and later years.

Well, good luck with that. Please let us know when you find this more extensive solution. I would be particularly interested in micro controllers offered in 2015 and later years.

Well with every possible I meant every possible PIC micro controller
Cause the compiler I used before - Micro C - misses quite a lot of them

(*steve*)

¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd
Any compiler is likely to support only a subset. For example some very early devices may not longer be supported. Based on licensing you might find that high end devices are not supported. Very new devices may not be supported *yet*.

In terms of supporting *everything* the manufacturer supplied/supported tools are likely to be your best bet.