Maker Pro
Maker Pro

oscilloscopes and microcontrollers

Hello all,

I have a question regarding the conversion of an analog oscilloscope to a digital one by using a microcontroller.Has anyone tried that?I have done a little research but no one seems to have performed such a task.

I am relatively new to electronics so in my mind seems a relatively easy task.I am finding the analogic X-Y outputs from the oscilloscope(before or after amplification?) and connect them to a microcontroller.Then I use its in-build analog to digital converter and that's it.

Can someone give me any clues if I am right or wrong?

They have been able to construct a whole digital osciilloscope by using microcontrollers so it seems to be strange why there aren't any descriptions for just a conversion.

thank you,

naimead

Seems reasonable to me. Of course the digital scope you end up with won't have very high specifications - microcontrollers aren't optimally designed for such work. Special digital signal processors (DSP's) are used for the real ones.
I can see you learning a lot about electronics in this project.

PS the reason people don't do this more often is probably that after all the work you don't wind up with a better scope.

Last edited:
Thank you for your reply poor mystic!

The microcontroller I have in mind has 8 10bit ADC output with a sampling rate of 6kHz.
So these specifications I believe cover my completely basic needs(about 4.9mV steps).

The job is to construct an electrocardiograph(for experimental use only of course:)), but they gave me an old machine which is just analog thus I can't have the signal digitized so I can work with.

The main problem of this project I thought is that most microcontrollers take as input 5V the most, so anything larger than that would fry it.

But hypothetically speaking what would you try to use as input from an analog oscilloscope to a micro?