Maker Pro
Maker Pro

oscilloscope blurry with poor vertical lines

Hi,

I noticed some helpful posts on here through google searches, I hoped you might be able to help me

I have been given an oscilloscope, I'm new to them and understand the (very) basic operation. The scope seemed fine when it was given to me, although after a cold winter in the brick shed on the back of the house, i've gone to use it & the scope is quite blurry, on the calibration sine wave, there is a distinct lack of / poor vertical line, I also noticed that the top horizontal line is sloped slightly, while the bottom line is straight... I cannot seem to get what i believe is a "crisp" image on it.. for the photo's the intensity is as low as possible, any higher just creates a halo effect around the original dot, focus is just below half way..

I read that others have replaced transistors / resistors to improve this on tektronic scopes, however i was never given the front cover plate, so other than a goldstar Precision Co Ltd logo on the back and OS-9020P mainboard 1994 3.12 Goldstar Precision Ltd on the pcb, I have no knowledge of this model number (maybe someone recognises it?)

I have searched google's image library, however so far i have only found tektronic versions.

it is dual channel but quite a low frequency version, it has a philips tube (made in holland) with "fluke industrial BV" on the philips sticker.

I have attached some photo's, if anyone can give me the model number that'd be a great start, if anyone knows how to repair the vertical lines & blur, that'd be even better.

I've good soldering skills, access to a hot air station if required, although have never worked on tubes or HV tube pcb's, always steered away from them....

I don't have another scope to use, but a good fluke dmm & npn / pnp transistor tester if they're needed....

any help would be great- thanks
josh1e

Attachments

• calibration sine wave 2.jpg
    calibration sine wave 2.jpg
    87.2 KB · Views: 499