Maker Pro
Maker Pro

New (old) guy

I studied electronics in high school & college 45+ years ago, in the awkward period between when they stopped teaching about tubes and when they started teaching about ICs. After that I worked in a small shop that specialized in PA equipment for less than a year before moving on to the career I wanted since my early teens: Designing speakers.
I did that for at 2 speaker manufacturers that each became the largest in Canada while I was there and my name was mentioned in Audio Scene Canada magazine a few times (apparently the sales guys dropped my name a bit too).

The details aren't important but after a dozen years things were starting to sour and I no longer wanted to deal with furniture chain buyers like the guy that told us "That one is what I'd want in my own living room but I'm going to order this because I know our sales people can sell something that sounds like it. I'd put little piles of dirt with price tags on the sales floor if I could" (when the order came in the sales manager & I decided to call their models LPD-01, LPD-02 &c).

I had always wanted to move out of the city so we decided to raise our kids in a place where the air was worth breathing, you could see the stars at night and the roads had a lot less traffic, found a house near Lake Simcoe and I left my career in electronics behind.
I took a job at a local factory (5km from home), planning to keep looking until I found something I liked better. The work had absolutely noting to do with electronics but I found it interesting and ended up retiring from there 27 years later.

During most of the time since we left the city the only electronics I've done was some motorcycle wiring (including using LEDs as indicators in instrument panels and switch panels), a few small projects for my model trains (again including LEDs) and the occasional repair of something around the house.