Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Need to build transformer - 21vdc 900ma

Hi,

I need to build a 110VAC to 21VDC, 900ma transformer.

(This is to power an ACT Labs gaming steering wheel for which I lost the power brick)

Would someone be able to provide me a schematic of the circuit I need to build?

I am new to the transformer world, how would I control the output voltage 21VDC while also limiting the current 900ma?

Thanks!
Sharad

davenn

Hi,
I need to build a 110VAC to 21VDC, 900ma transformer.
(This is to power an ACT Labs gaming steering wheel for which I lost the power brick)
Would someone be able to provide me a schematic of the circuit I need to build?
I am new to the transformer world, how would I control the output voltage 21VDC while also limiting the current 900ma?
Thanks!
Sharad

Hi Sharad,
people dont normally wind their own transformers these days, its much easier to just go and buy one. But if you would like to see what's involved in winding a tramsformer and calculating Voltage in Vs Voltage out; turns ratios, etc
here is a good starting point tutorial......
http://sound.westhost.com/xfmr2.htm

cheers
Dave
VK2TDN

I guess I asked the wrong question. I want to build a power supply that will output 21vdc 900ma

I tried looking online and couldn't find a power supply that would do I what I want so I'm stuck building one.

So no I would not wind my own transformer. I would buy one off the shelf but I would have to build a circuit around it to get the 21VDC and 900ma output, and that's where I am stuck. I am just not familar with AC to DC power supplies and need help in the schematic.

So if anyone can help me with the schematic and the parts I need to get this done, I would appreciate it

Thanks!
Sharad

davenn

I guess I asked the wrong question. I want to build a power supply that will output 21vdc 900ma
I tried looking online and couldn't find a power supply that would do I what I want so I'm stuck building one.