Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Need help with Arduino Atmel project

Need help with a few things. I am new to microcontrollers but i feel i need to get a grasp of this stuff. I am still only able to do simple stuff like write my name in a lcd or run leds and switches. I am trying to do a project where i display the volts,ohms,amps,watts of a external regulator.The regulator is not the one running the arduino. I am using a 5v 16mz arduino pro mini btw .

I think that accomplishing this will have to do with using the internal analogtodigital or analog reference and converting it to a voltage,Im not sure how to do this yet.

Do i connect the output of the adjustable regulator to a pin on the arduino ? Do i connect the output of the reg to a voltage divider first before going to the arduino. ?

The regulator im trying to read the output on is a adjustable regulator 3.3-6v up to 3A . Main thing i need is to display what voltage its set at on the arduino controlled lcd.Then from there get the watts ,ohms and amps its outputting. I have a acs712 amp sensor coming in the mail soon for that

Everything is running of li-ion batteries

Hopefully someon can help me with this project . Thanks

Hi

Warning I'm a S/W engineer by trade so my understanding in H/W is only improving.

The arduino pro mini can except 5 - 12 V (5V model). you would only need a voltage divider if your voltage source is larger then 12 volts.

There is 6 analogue input pins. You will need 1 for managing the the voltage input which will be need to be between 0 and vcc which is 5 volts in your model. (http://arduino.cc/en/Main/ArduinoBoardProMini)

Another analogue input will need to be connected VIOUT from the ACS712 where you will need to map the current to the VIOUT using the tables in the ACS712 datasheet. I thought the table 'Output Voltage versus Sensed Current' might be all you need, though I might be over simplifying it.

Its my understanding ohms is irreverent.