Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Need help modifying ac ammeter (shunt)

So I want my clamp ammeter to read half of what it is currently reading , I can't rewind the coil so I was thinking about using a resistor in parallel as a shunt between the leads. But I'm not an electrical engineer just a hobbyist and they have no idea what value resistor I should use. I read about using a shunt in a homemade analog ammeter but nothing about a digital clamp ammeter.

So I want my clamp ammeter
It's a 'clamp' meter so putting a shunt across the leads won't work. You need to find where the clamp detection coil is fitted internally and, even then, getting the required accuracy will be difficult.

Is there some reason why you need to make this change rather than either purchasing an individual meter for the range you require or putting a sticker on the meter display?

Yeah I meant to put them where the leads go into the circuit board. I don't need accuracy. I just want to approximately reduce it by half.

It's not actually a clamp ammeter . But it works off the same principle a primary wire inducts a current in a coil and the circuit measures the current. Im building a prototype and repurposing old equipment. The existing on board microcontroller has a trigger that trips at a certain amperage. The easiest way for me to modify it would be to use a resistor

You need to identify where the current transformer windings fix to the board - from the clamp heads - and add a resistor.

The current transformer usually has a resistor across the secondary winding which develops the voltage to be detected/measured - this will need to be doubled in value to half the range reading.

The op-amp that amplifies this voltage may have feedback resistors that you can change more easily but that would mean chasing out the tracks to find out which one it is!