Maker Pro
Maker Pro

need advice - want to power a DC device through AC

Hello all.

My daughter has a music box she listens to every night while falling asleep. It runs on three D batteries. I'm tired of constantly buying new D batteries! I'd like to wire the music box to be able to plug into the wall. Can you give me some advice. I'm a complete novice at this.

I've got some old cell phone wall chargers. They all seem to give an output of around 5v. The lowest one I have gives an output of 4.9V 450mA.

If the device takes three 1.5V D batteries, does that mean I need to find a AC to DC convertor that will output 4.5V? I'm not sure what the mA needs to be. Is that important?

My idea was to clip the end off the cell phone wall charger, strip the wire and connect the positive and negative leads to the positive and negative battery connectors in the music box. Will that work? Is it that simple?

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

(*steve*)

¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd
Its actually reasonably likely that a 5V 1A charger would work fine. new alkaline cells can be up to 1.7V, so 3 are around 5V and thus it is likely that the unit will cope quite well with this voltage.

your plan sounds reasonable. Just make sure you get the polarity right.

Thanks for the reply.

Should I be concerned about the mA rating. I just read somewhere that if the mA rating on the charger is too low, it could cause melting/fire problems after prolonged use. Is there a way to know what the mA requirements are used in devices taking three C batteries.

I've just looked at my iphone charger, it is at 5v with a 1A output. That seems quite a bit more than the 450mA on the spare phone charger I have.

Thanks!

How long do the 3 C batteries power the music box for?

Battery
Type Avg. voltage
During discharge milli-Amp
hours (mAh) Watt-hours
Wh Joules
J
Alkaline
Long-life 1.225 7800mah
Carbon-zinc. 1.1. 2172mah
Nickel-Cadmium 1.2. 2500mah
NiMH. 1.2. 4500mah