Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Micro hydro-electric generator help

Given that we know the generator you have linked to will not provide sufficient output to do any harm, I can tell you how to wire it. Wire the + output of the generator to the + battery terminal. Wire the ground or - output of the generator to the - battery terminal. Done. It may put a tiny charge on the battery. It will never get up to full charge because it requires more than 12V to do that, but then it will also never get up to full charge because the power source is insufficient. If you are lucky, maybe 10 hours of charging will give you one hour of run time.

I am serious. This is how you can charge a battery from a source that does not put out enough power to charge the battery in a reasonable time. This is how the solar garden lights that you see everywhere work.

Bob

hevans1944

Hop - AC8NS
It genuinely makes me sad that I won't even have the chance to try. I was a combat engineer in the US Army, and the engineer motto is "Essayons," "Let us try."
Thank you for your service. My family also served, and some of us continue to serve today. I have the utmost respect for our military, who put themselves in harms way to help preserve our freedom and our nation's sovereignty.

A combat engineer, as a trained infantry, is right up there along the side of non-combatant medics in their selfless dedication to getting the job done on the battlefield. But, and this is a huge BUT, no engineer blindly says "Let us try" without at least obtaining some of the education, experience, and training necessary for success.

You did have a chance to try. It is too bad and so sad that your lame attempt was done without the requisite research to see if your approach was even possible, much less practical. That is not engineering.