Maker Pro
Maker Pro

LED strobe circuit needs more current

LedFlasher.gif

I have this circuit working on my breadboard. This circuit does exactly what I need in terms of effect but so far I have not been able to find a way to get more current to the LED output.

I tried using a couple of different Darlington transistors (the one on the breadboard now is a Fairchild Transistors Darlington PNP Epitaxial Sil US HTS:8541408000 ECCN:EAR99

No luck so far. When the BC557 PNP is replaced by the Darlington the circuit powers the LED up slowly (too slow) then it fails to shut off.. Q1 does not turn off.. Apparently for some reason the discharge of the electrolytic does not drop the voltage low enough to turn off Q1 let alone keep it off for any length of time.. I tried a few changes of resistors but no luck.. Apparently I have not fully grasped the dynamics at work in how/why Q1 shuts off and why the Darlington has changed this.

I am still new to this stuff though I have been studying up...

I need to get this circuit or a very similar one to FULLY power optionally a 1/2 watt LED or 2 half watt LEDs, so from ~120ma to ~240ma, depending on circuit config, power input is ~5vdc not 6.

Thanks,

Jim

Last edited:

Harald Kapp

Replace the LED by this circuit:
attachment.php

Hereby the LED driver is independent from the flasher circuit. In your original circuit the LED current is limited by the 22 Ohm resistor. You cannot change the 22Ohm resistor arbitrarily because it serves as a second purpose for feedback to make the flasher blink.

Attachments

• LED_Amplifier.gif
    LED_Amplifier.gif
    2 KB · Views: 1,411
Replace the LED by this circuit:
attachment.php

Hereby the LED driver is independent from the flasher circuit. In your original circuit the LED current is limited by the 22 Ohm resistor. You cannot change the 22Ohm resistor arbitrarily because it serves as a second purpose for feedback to make the flasher blink.