Maker Pro
Maker Pro

led indicators

hello im new on here and a complete novice
what i want to do is add some marker lights to my van, orange running down the side of the van.
that's the easy bit for me. they will be wired into the 12v supply to the side light, but what i want them to do is flash in sequence running down the side of the van when indicating. how would i get this to work? i have looked at the arduino uno and can see how to do the coding to get the sequence to work, i may just be over thinking it and getting my self confused!
many thanks
paul

Harald Kapp

Welcome to electronics point, Paul.

There are a few things to consider:
  1. Is it legal to have this kind of lighting on your van where you use it?
  2. How many LEDs are you going to use and what tradeoff between wiring, lines of code and cost are you willing to accept?

Let's assume you have cleared #1 - it's entirely your responsibility.

An Arduino or similar is a possible solution. But the Arduino has a limited number of GPIO pins, very likely not enough to drive all your LEDs directly. A possible way ot of this dilemma is by using a serial protocol. Again you have many choices to implement this.
May I suggest you look into addressable RGB LED strips using WS2812B LEDs (Google)?
These strips come in various lengths and various numbers of LEDs per meter. Also available in a waterproof version (probably right for use on your van). They can easily be cut to the desired length. The color and intensity of each single LED can be controlled by a single data line. Libraries are available for the Arduino that hide the complex timing from you. You simply tell the library which LEDs are to be activated in terms of color and brightness. You can easily achieve various effects including but not limited to the flash sequence you're looking for.
See e.g. this reference for a few more details.