Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Learning to use programmable integrated circuits

Hi, I'm relatively new to the world of electronics. I've recently taken up model building as a hobby, and in the past few weeks, through researching various online tutorials and youtube videos, I've learned how to build a couple of circuits for controlling LEDs to light my models. A simple LED blinker circuit using the 555 timer, and a chaser circuit using the 555 and a 4017 Johnson's decade counter. Also, Kris and *steve* here on the forums have helped me sort out some power issues.

I'd like to take it a step further. I'd like to learn how to use PICs, and hot air soldering so that I can use very small SMD components. I have no programming experience at all, however, I think I can learn if there's a tutorial somewhere like "PICs for dummies", or some literature that explains it in a way that someone with no formal training, like me, can understand. For the most part I'll probably just be using existing code that someone else has already written, modified slightly for the timing I need. For now, all I'm wanting to do is control some LEDs, nothing overly complicated. However, I know this is not something one can earn overnight and I'm willing to put forth the effort. I'm looking for some advice on where to begin and what hardware would be the most user friendly. Can any of you guys (or gals) point me in the right direction?

Take a look here ,there are many example programs and books for beginners to start with PIC's ,Get youselve a small Development board use the DEMO compiler/example code and the books in no time you will do some nice things with these PICs

http://www.mikroe.com/pic/development-boards/

You can choose between C,Basic and pascal which ever language you would prefer ,I personally like C and Pascal
you can down load a demo version of the compiler from here

http://www.mikroe.com/mikroc/pic/