Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Interfacing hall-effect sensor to embedded CPU

I'm trying to interface an Allegro A1160 half-effect sensor to a TI MSP430 CPU.

The A1160 is a 5V device whilst the MSP430 operates from a 1.8V to 3.6V supply. The MSP430 has onboard ADC, but the analog input pins have an absolute max rating of VCC + 0.3V.

I have both 3.3V and 5V regulators on my PCB design and I'm assuming that I'll need some opamps or something to interface between the MSP430 CPU and the A1160 sensor.

I'm still fairly new to electronics design and I'm looking for advice as to a good way to interface these two devices.

Hi Stube
I went to the Allegro site but found that they don't list an A1160 sensor. Would you please check the designation of the component?
Thanks!

Thanks Stube40
According to the Allegro datasheet, the chips have a "clamped low impedance" output. It sounds like all you need is a resistive potential divider.
:)

rethink...
The output voltage of the device will depend on the magnetic field. There's not much current available, so your ADC is probably safe, but perhaps it's a good idea to put a zener diode across the i/p of the ADC to be safe.
Once you know the likely voltage swing due to applied magnetic field you'll be in a better position to decide how to condition the signal for the ADC input.
You could measure this swing with a meter or oscilloscope, and write back to the forum for further advice.

Last edited:
Thanks Stube40
According to the Allegro datasheet, the chips have a "clamped low impedance" output. It sounds like all you need is a resistive potential divider.
:)

rethink...
The output voltage of the device will depend on the magnetic field. There's not much current available, so your ADC is probably safe, but perhaps it's a good idea to put a zener diode across the i/p of the ADC to be safe.
Once you know the likely voltage swing due to applied magnetic field you'll be in a better position to decide how to condition the signal for the ADC input.