Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Identification: MOSFET IRF520 type

Let me preface this by saying I am not an electrical engineer of any sort. I'm working on a small-scale automation project (Arduino) with a local college. I'm supposed to be doing software, but the responsibility of electronics has kind of fallen to me as well, because my peers consist mostly of intimidated biologists.

I can't find this exact MOSFET part on Google, but we need another one. What I want to know is either 1) where can I find this part or 2) where can I find a part that can do the same thing? I know the voltage/resistance can vary even amongst IRF520s, so that's why I'm asking.

hcslXg8.jpg

(http://imgur.com/hcslXg8)

Sorry for ugly fingers, I had to bend the connector back a bit (yikes). I'm pretty sure the text says:

IRF520
I[symbol]R P540D
B9PO

Thanks for helping a novice like me, means a lot.

Last edited:

(*steve*)

¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd
The IRF520 is a relatively old school MOSFET.

It's rated for a maximum voltage of 100V, a maximum current of 10A, and has a channel resistance up to about 0.25Ω. As an old school device it also has a relatively low gate charge.

My question for you is "what are these used for?"

There are many possible replacements, but knowing what you're switching, voltages and currents for the load, and what is driving the MOSFET will all be helpful.

If you have a circuit diagram that would also be very useful.

On my end, the project I'm on consists of maintaining an Arduino machine that will feed fish, and will flash an LED when food is ready.

Looking at the code from the Arduino, it seems that the MOSFET is being used to turn the feeder part of the machine on/off.
Code:
void dispense_food()
{
  digitalWrite(mosfetPin, HIGH);          //dispense food
  delay(500);

digitalWrite(mosfetPin, LOW);           //reset feeder switch
  delay(500);
}