Maker Pro
Maker Pro

I want to modify my car radio

My hearing isn't the greatest and I'm not hearing my car radio\disc player properly.

What I'd like to do is add a headphone socket to the radio unit so that I can choose to listen to the speakers normally, or through headphones.

I've been told I'd have to modify the radio to do this.

I'm no expert but I would have thought I'd only need to insert the headphone jack into to the speaker lead circuit.

Advice would be appreciated.

Output too high for headphones, unless you want to make your own headphones out of a piece of bent spring steel and a couple of 8"x 6" speakers. :)

If it has aux out socket on the radio just jump into a bluetooth wireless headphones and adaptor.

Anyhow, these line to rca level converters might be the type of thing you are after, others may be able to jump in and comment. Could be possible to run a bluetooth off this and then have wireless headphones also.
Not sure about the traffic laws governing this type of thing though.

https://www.jaycar.com.au/speaker-high-level-to-line-level-converter/p/AA0482

http://vi.vipr.ebaydesc.com/ws/eBay...descgauge=1&cspheader=1&oneClk=1&secureDesc=0

In cheap bookshelf stereos the headphone out is often nothing more than a pair of resistors (resistor divider) on the speaker output, to drop the signal level to that appropriate for headphones, though some high-end headphones can need higher levels than the average headphones.

You can see suggested values and equations on the following page under "Passive Low-Level Networks" "Line-Level Adapter":

https://www.termpro.com/asp/pubs.asp?id=119

I see you are from New Zealand and can't speak to your local laws. But in the US, wearing headphones while driving is illegal.