Maker Pro
Maker Pro

I want to build an electronic device but need help

Hello,

I have limited experience with electronics and just trying to get some ideas on how to build an electronic device that I will describe below. Here are the specs

Description: The device I want to make is a light that blinks off and on at a set rate and runs off a small battery or can be hard wired.
  • Small gadget the size of a quarter
  • the light is similar or exactly like the light on a cell phones camera
  • it's powered by a battery but has a long life or can be hardwired
  • it blinks at a steady rate maybe once every 5 seconds
What materials would I need? And about what would it cost me to make? If these requirements are too much or this question is not part of this forum I'll be glad to remove it.

Thanks in advance

Friend all you need is an LM555 connected as an unstable multivibrator.

by using SMT components you can easily make it small as a quarter. If not it will still be very small

Here is the circuit :

by changing the R1 trimer you can adjust duty cycle and by changing VR trimmer you can adjust frequency.

P.S. you can use a high luminance LED. the 555 can handle 300ma output current without a problem that should be enough for a very bright LED.

As power supply you can use a 9v battery.

Attachments

• 555-variable freq-pulse-generator.png
    555-variable freq-pulse-generator.png
    13.4 KB · Views: 80
Thank you Donkey and HellasTechn for your response. And I apologize for taking so long to reply my laptop died and I finnaly fix it. Donkey the bulb you recommend, this is only the bulb correct? And then I would need to connect it to a battery and encase it?

HellasTechn: The diagram I am totally lost on but would this be a circuit board with all these little transistor soldered on to it?

Thanks

There are no transistors in that diagram. There is a chip and some other components.