Maker Pro
Maker Pro

How to switch an AC circuit from a computer

Hello,

I want to use an embedded or a plug computer to control an electric home door lock. I don't have any of the components yet, but it looks like the lock requires a 16VAC power supply. Assuming the computer has a USB interface, would I use something like this -- http://www.obdev.at/products/vusb/powerswitch.html? And, if so, how would I mate the DC pins on the USB board to a switch on the AC circuit? I'm a total newbie regarding electronics.

Thanks,

Michael

What is a 'plug computer', by your description? This can be as simple or as complex as you want to make it. When I first read your post, I was thinking about the magnetic door locks. From how I understand the circuit, it's basically a big coil of wire energized to become an electromagnet. There is a metal plate on the door, while the coil sits in the door frame. When the power is applied to the coil, it attracts the metal plate on the door, and you cannot open the door. When someone presses a switch, it temporarily interrupts power to the coil, de-energizing it, and allowing the plate to pull away from the coil. That seems simple enough to me. This could be expanded by using a relay to interrupt the power to the coil, and controlling the relay using some sort of output from your computer, maybe from the serial or parallel ports.

You say that you don't have any components, but at the same time, you say the lock requires a 16VAC power supply? How can this be? Are you looking at possible parts? Do you mean you have already ordered parts, but just don't physically have them yet? What parts do you have and/or what parts were you intending to use? Do you have a make and model number for the door lock? How does the lock work? Is it similar to the one I described, simply being energized and de-energized to prevent and allow entry, respectively? Or is there more to the circuit?