Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Hi

Hello everyone, I am new to electronics and I am looking to get started in the hobby. I am a computer scientist but I probably should have studied electrical engineering.
I started to read "Getting started in electronics" and I feel it is a good book. I have also purchased a few project kits to get started.
I am curious to see what everyone thinks are must have equipment and testers. Also, if anyone could recommend any good books on how to test components, I have already ran into some issues on the kits.
Thanks.

(*steve*)

¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd
If you're really serious about electronics, get a copy of "The art of electronics" (Horowitz & Hill). You may want to borrow a copy from a local library, or read a little in your local bookstore before you buy, as it's not a cheap book. It alsp may be a little advanced for where you are at the moment, but once you're ready for it, it's an absolutely *excellent* book.

The absolutely must-have equipment is a multimeter -- you can go for years and not need anything more. You can start with something cheap as you're bound to end up with several of them :) Look for reviews of multimeters and decide what suits you.

Here is a (very enthusiastic video) review of a number of multimeters at around the $50 mark.

Other test equipment -- well, multimeters now come with all sorts of extra test options and can often take the place of dedicated test equipment, especially when infrequently needed. What you might need depends on what you're doing.

When you ask about "testing components", what do you mean? You can test them to identify their "value" (essentially measuring them), to identify faults in them, to verify their operating characteristics, or to identify their function (identifying an unknown device). And what sort of components?

To put it another way, when you say "testing components", which sort of question are you asking?

a) Which of these resistors is 4.7k?
b) Is this diode still functional?