Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Help with 555 device and interfacing with another device

Hello all of you!

I'm very new to the world of electronics, so i praise for your patience in helping me and making me understand what am i doing wrong in my project. Thanks in advance for your time.

So here it goes:
I have one 555 device that runs on 12v and i wish to "interface" it with another device (one hotspot) that i can only find 1.8v in two test pads.

What i need sounds fairly simple: when i switch the hotspot on i want it to connect to the 555 so that it activates a relay, that will light up some led light while the hotspot is on.

I've tried multiple things: 547npn transistor, connecting the base to the 1,8v with a resistor in the middle that in one simulation made it look like it would work, but it didn't. I don't know why.
I also tried to mess up with the control voltage from the 555 so that the comparator would be triggered by 1.8v instead of 12v but i also didn't had success with it.

The 555 device is from velleman and i have the schematics from the simulation i was running with the transistor trying to act as trigger. I will upload that image, but i am open to any solution that is in the reach of my (low) capabilities.

Thank you

Attachments

• schematics.jpg
    schematics.jpg
    76.5 KB · Views: 102
  • IMG_0759.JPG
    IMG_0759.JPG
    398.7 KB · Views: 105

davenn

I've tried multiple things: 547npn transistor, connecting the base to the 1,8v with a resistor in the middle that in one simulation made it look like it would work, but it didn't. I don't know why.

hi there
welcome to EP :)

you problems lies with the way you have wired up the LED and relay
you are trying to power the relay via a 1k resistor and the LED ... that isn't going to work

I don't see what the relay is supposed to be doing ?? at the moment, even if it was able to be activated
it isn't switching anything as there is nothing connected to the switched contacts